top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureSWBB

Palm Sunday



Today (5th April) is Palm Sunday. Today Christians commemorate the arrival of Jesus into Jerusalem (Look up Matthew 21:1–9 - in my bible this is called "Jesus Rides into Jerusalem on a Donkey"). Palm branches were placed in Jesus' path. This all happened shortly before his arrest and later his crucifixion on Good Friday.




And finally, a bit of culture. Please do take two minutes out of your day to have a read of this poem. How long will it take you to work out who is telling this story?



When fishes flew and forests walked And figs grew upon thorn, Some moment when the moon was blood Then surely I was born. With monstrous head and sickening cry And ears like errant wings, The devil’s walking parody On all four-footed things. The tattered outlaw of the earth, Of ancient crooked will; Starve, scourge, deride me: I am dumb, I keep my secret still. Fools! For I also had my hour; One far fierce hour and sweet: There was a shout about my ears, And palms before my feet.





38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page